The Lagos State Government has officially inaugurated a 15-member Health Board Selection Committee tasked with identifying and selecting qualified candidates to serve as board members across various agencies under the Lagos State Ministry of Health.

Commissioner for Health, Professor Akin Abayomi, who presided over the inauguration, emphasised that the committee’s establishment is driven by the necessity to ensure effective governance and leadership within health sector agencies for efficient healthcare service delivery to Lagos residents.

Professor Abayomi elaborated on the composition of the newly inaugurated Board Selection Committee, comprising a Chairman; a senior civil servant experienced in governance and public administration, and a Secretary, who is a senior officer within the Ministry of Health with expertise in administrative and legal matters. Other members include representatives from relevant departments within the Ministry of Health, industry experts from the healthcare sector, and an independent auditor or financial expert to outline the audit, fiscal, and fiduciary responsibilities of prospective board members. 

Key members of the Health Board Selection Committee include Chairman, Dr. Olufunmilayo Shokunbi; Secretary, Dr. Victoria Omoera and other distinguished professionals in healthcare, administration, law, finance, and academia, including Dr. Bodurin Osikomaiya, Barr. Adenike Coker-Soewu, Dr. Adenike Omosun, Dr. Temitope Balogun, Mr. Barnard Martins, Barr. Olorunsola Adesanya, Mrs. Dorcas Shonibare, Mr. Tosin Runsewe, Prof. Adebowale Adekoya, Dr. Olajumoke Ibidapo, Dr. Simisola Alabi, Pharm Onakoya and Mrs. Victoria Oloruntegbe.

Professor Abayomi outlined the committee’s primary objectives, which include identifying and selecting individuals with the necessary qualifications, expertise, and commitment to serve as board members for various agencies under the Lagos State Ministry of Health. The committee is also tasked with facilitating the appointment and inauguration of selected board members in collaboration with the Ministry of Health and other relevant authorities.

Expressing the administration’s commitment to sustainable healthcare delivery, Commissioner Abayomi urged committee members to establish transparent criteria for board member selection, ensuring candidates possess the requisite skills, experience and dedication to fulfil their roles effectively.

Special Adviser to the Governor on Health, Dr. (Mrs.) Kemi Ogunyemi, in her remarks at the inauguration, emphasised that the Health Board Selection Committee aligns with the Health and Environment mandate of the THEMES PLUS agenda. She highlighted the committee’s pivotal role in providing direction and guidance to agencies for effective and efficient operation. 

Dr. Ogunyemi commended committee members for accepting the responsibility to serve, urging them to tailor their selections to the unique needs of the health boards in the state.

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health, Dr. Olusegun Ogboye also commended the committee members for their willingness to serve, reaffirming the administration’s commitment to developing a sustainable healthcare delivery system in the state through strategic planning and implementation.

Related Articles

Back to top button